This Week In Trailers XXVII

It is not a very exciting week for new trailers at all. It is especially dissapointing if you happen to be a fan of the Dragonball tv series (which I’m not, but there sure are a lot of people who are). So, first up we have the aforementioned Dragonball failure, followed by Confessions of a Shopaholic, which I hear is also pretty popular, then we have the indie film Sunshine Cleaning, and finally the trailer for Paul Blart Mall Cop.

Dragonball


All everyone has been saying since this trailer came out is how bad it looks and how unlike the show it is. I never watched the show so I may just not get the reasons why this is bad, but to me the movie actually looks sort of decent. It’s probably not something I’d pay money to see in theaters, but the action looks decent and the story doesn’t sound like a travesty.

Confessions of a Shopaholic


Isla Fisher is a funny actor, and it looks like she is well tailored for this role. The movie doesn’t look horrible, but at the same time I don’t think I will be watching it. The trailer started out well but it just moved downhill when it became apparant that they were relying almost entirely on physical comedy and sight gags.

Sunshine Cleaning


Amy Adams and Emily Blunt are both amazing, as is Alan Arkin, though I suspect his role is not very big. I heard about this movie when it premiered at Sundance this year and it sounded really interesting at the time, and now the trailer makes it seem… different, but just as cool.It probably won’t see a very large run, but I will make a point of looking out for it.

Paul Blart Mall Cop


This does not look very good at all, mostly because the plot is so stupid I don’t think I could sit through 2 hours of it. On the plus side, those ridiculously athletic criminals put on a pretty good show, but if I wanted acrobatics, this movie is not the sort of place I would go looking. There is little to no chance that I will watch this.

EDIT:

Australia


Alright, I wasn’t going to include this since I already featured the first Australia trailer in another issue, but then I watched it and it was far too good not to include. Baz Lurhman is a phenomenal director and the cast is amazing, but what really looks good (and what was missing from the first trailer) is the great story. I am really excited for this movie.

~ by Hobbes on October 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
